Featured Article

December 2022

1 to 1 of 1 total
Medical Education: Part I Pitt Puzzles: A Clinical Reasoning Tool by Busy Residents for Busy Residents Casey N. McQuade, MD; Rachel Wojcik, MD; Michelle Fleshner, MD; Benjamin Smith, MD; Eliana Bonifacino, MD, MS Dr. McQuade ( mqucadec@upmc.edu ) is a clinical assistant professor of medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. Dr. Wojcik ( wojcikr@upmc.edu ) is a fellow in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care at the University ...

November 2022

1 to 1 of 1 total
Sign of the Times If Trust Is to Be the Manner in which We Assess, We Need to Look Inward Katherine A. Gielissen, MD, MHS-MedEd; Benjamin R. Doolittle, MD, MDIV Dr. Gielissen ( katherine.gielissen@yale.edu ) is an assistant professor of medicine and pediatrics, Yale Teaching and Learning Center Associate for resident and fellow development in medical education, and director of assessment for the Yale Primary Care Internal Medicine Program, New Haven, CT. Dr. Doolittle ( benjamin.doolittle@yale.edu ...

October 2022

1 to 1 of 1 total
Sign of the Times Intentionality with Teams and Technology: The Right Stuff for Clinical Teachers Chase J. Webber, DO, FACP; Regina G. Russell, PhD, MA, MEd; William B. Cutrer, MD, MEd Dr. Webber ( chase.j.webber@vanderbilt.edu ) is assistant professor of clinical medicine in the Department of Medicine at Vanderbilt University Medical Center and master clinical teacher at the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. Dr. Russell ( regina.russell@vanderbilt.edu ) is assistant professor of ...

September 2022

1 to 1 of 1 total
Medical Education: Part I Building the Team: Residents as Clinical Coaches Margot E. Cohen, MD, MSEd; Caitlin B. Clancy, MD, MSHP; D. Rani Nandiwada, MD, MS; Keith Hamilton, MD; Peter H. Yen, MD Dr. Cohen ( margot.cohen@pennmedicine.upenn.edu ) is an assistant professor of clinical medicine in the section of hospital medicine at the Perelman School of Medicine at University of Pennsylvania and the co-director of the Internal Medicine Clerkship for the Department of Medicine. Dr. Clancy ( ...

August 2022

1 to 1 of 1 total
Medical Education: Part I Inspirational Stories from 2022 SGIM Education Award Recipients Katherine Killian, MD, MPH, MS; Meghan Kiefer, MD, MPH; Amy Farkas, MD, MS; Sarah Merriam, MD, MS Dr. Killian ( kkillian@northwell.edu ) is an assistant professor at the Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell. Dr. Kiefer ( meghanm@uw.edu , Twitter @meghanmkiefer ) is an associate professor at University of Washington School of Medicine. Dr. Farkas ( ahfarkas@mcw.edu ) is ...

July 2022

1 to 1 of 1 total
Medical Education: Part I The Imperative for LGBTQ+ Inclusive Medical Education Simone Chriss, Esq.; Ryan W. Nall, MD; Chelsea Dunn, Esq.; Laura K. Guyer, PhD, MEd, RDN Ms. Chriss ( simone.chriss@southernlegal.org ) is director of the Transgender Rights Initiative at Southern Legal Counsel in Gainesville, Florida. Dr. Nall ( Ryan.Nall@medicine.ufl.edu ) is an associate professor and clerkship director of medicine at the University of Florida College of Medicine. Ms. Dunn ( chelsea.dunn@southernlegal.org ...

June 2022

1 to 1 of 1 total
Researchers’ Corner Advocating for LGBTQ+ Health and Well-Being: From the Clinic to the Streets Carl G. Streed, Jr, MD, MPH; Ryan W. Nall, MD; Danielle F. Loeb, MD, MPH; Helene Hedian, MD; Christopher Terndrup, MD Dr. Streed ( carl.streed@bmc.org ) is an assistant professor of medicine in the Section of General Internal Medicine at Boston University School of Medicine and research lead of the Center for Transgender Medicine and Surgery at Boston Medical Center. Dr. Nall ( Ryan.Nall@medicine.ufl.edu ...

May 2022

1 to 1 of 1 total
Breadth: Part I “If I am to care adequately for the sick…”—Lessons from Pancreatic Cancer Gregory J. Misky, MD Dr. Misky ( gregory.misky@CUAnschutz.edu ) is an associate professor of medicine in the Department of Medicine at University of Colorado and is associate director of faculty development and advancement for the University of Colorado Division of Hospital Medicine. On November 25, 2005, my mother died of pancreatic cancer—a death that represented the culmination of a courageous ...

April 2022

1 to 1 of 1 total
Health Policy Corner What Is Comprehensive Primary Care and How Should It Be Paid? Robert Doolan, MD, FACP Dr. Doolan ( Robert.Doolan@CUAnschutz.edu ) is an associate professor of clinical practice in the Department of Medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine and medical director of primary care for the Division of General Internal Medicine Primary care plays a central role in health care and provides comprehensive, patient-centered care across a patient’s lifespan. ...

March 2022

1 to 1 of 1 total
In Conversation Promoting Scholarship, Advocacy, and Creativity in the Balance of Work, Family, and Social Responsibility Rachel Levine, MD, MPH; Carole Warde, MD Dr. Levine ( rlevine@jhmi.edu ) is professor in the Division of General Internal Medicine, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. Dr. Warde ( cmwarde@gmail.com ) is a Health Sciences Clinical Professor of Medicine Emeritus, David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California, Los Angeles. ...

February 2022

1 to 1 of 1 total
Breadth A Virtual Village Catherine Myong, AB; Rebecca B. Newman, MD, FACP Ms. Myong ( crm2226@cumc.columbia.edu ) is a third-year medical student at Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians & Surgeons. Dr. Newman ( rnewman@stamhealth.org ) is an associate clinical professor of medicine at Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians & Surgeons and an associate program director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program at Stamford Hospital. There are already ...

January 2022

1 to 1 of 1 total
Ask an Ethicist Ask an Ethicist: Returning to Work after COVID-19 Kyle E. Karches, MD, MA Dr. Karches ( kyle.karches@health.slu.edu ) is chair of the SGIM Ethics Committee and an associate professor of internal medicine and healthcare ethics at Saint Louis University. “Ask an Ethicist” is a new SGIM Forum department that provides answers to questions in clinical ethics posed by SGIM members. Members of the SGIM Ethics Committee respond to real ethics cases and questions submitted ...

December 2021

1 to 1 of 1 total
Perspective SGIM Forum Editors Reflect on Nearly Two Years of the COVID-19 Pandemic Lauren Block, MD, MPH; Alfred Burger, MD, MS, FACP, FHM; Avital O’Glasser, MD, FACP, FHM; Yousaf Ali, MD, MS; Somnath Mookherjee, MD Dr. Block ( lblock2@northwell.edu ) is associate professor of medicine and science education at Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell. Dr. Burger ( alfred.burger@mountsinai.org ) is a professor of medicine and medical education in the Department of Medicine at Icahn ...

November 2021

1 to 1 of 1 total
Improving Care: Part I Mitigating Salient Biases in Ambulatory Medicine during the COVID-19 Pandemic Peggy B. Leung, MD; Daniel Kozman, MD; Lucinda B. Leung, MD, PhD; Christina Harris, MD Dr. Leung ( pbl9001@med.cornell.edu ) is an assistant professor of medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine at Weill Cornell Medicine. Dr. Kozman ( dkozman@mednet.ucla.edu ) is an assistant professor of clinical medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine’s Section of Medicine-Pediatrics ...

October 2021

1 to 1 of 1 total
Perspective: Part I Why I Became Open with My Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD) Mrs. Andrea Anampa-Guzmán Mrs. Anampa-Guzmán ( andrea.anampa@outlook.com.pe , Twitter @andreaanampag ) is a seventh-year medical student at Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos and an intern in the Lymphoma section at Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center. Medical school in Peru is a seven-year program during which the last (seventh) year of medical school is called the internship year , similar ...

September 2021

1 to 1 of 1 total
Improving Care Cultivating Well-being within Healthcare Teams: Lessons from Dialectical Behavior Therapy Nicole Gier, LCSW; Rachel Maurer, BA; Joyce W. Tang, MD, MPH Ms. Gier ( nicole26@uchicago.edu ) is a licensed clinical social worker in the Comprehensive Care Program (CCP), Section of Hospital Medicine, University of Chicago. Ms. Maurer ( rachel_maurer@rush.edu ) is a rising first-year medical student at Rush University. Dr. Tang ( jtang@bsd.uchicago.edu ) is an assistant professor in ...

August 2021

1 to 1 of 1 total
Breadth: Part I Massive Transfusion Emily April Min, MD Dr. Min ( minea@upmc.edu ) is a second-year Internal Medicine resident in the Department of Medicine at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. Her last words to you, her mom, before the breathing tube went in, were, “Don’t let me die.” I can hear the panic in your voice as you race down Forbes, past Carlow, towards the garage, “Don’t let my baby die!” You were at the bedside every day (except four days, you’ll admit ...

July 2021

1 to 1 of 1 total
Medical Education: Part I The New World of Outpatient Charting: A Threat or an Opportunity for Patients and Clinicians? Stacie R. Schmidt, MD; Nancy LaVine, MD, FACP; Reena Gupta, MD; Margaret C. Lo, MD, FACP; Pamela Vohra-Khullar, MD, FACP Relaxation of documentation requirements can be transformative for the busy clinician, inundated by electronic communications within the patient portal, prior authorizations, forms completion, and medication refills—piled on top of the increasing show ...

June 2021

1 to 1 of 1 total
Perspective Contemplating the COVID-19 Vaccine in Pregnancy Cassedy Mahrer Owen, DO Dr. Owen ( cassedy@uw.edu ) is an academic hospitalist fellow and acting clinical instructor at University of Washington in Seattle, WA. The year 2020 was a lot of firsts for me—first year as a hospitalist, first house, first pregnancy, and first time practicing medicine during a pandemic. With the arrival of 2021, I reflect on the ups and downs of last year’s journey. As a pregnant woman, I noticed ...

May 2021

1 to 1 of 1 total
Perspective: Part I Frontliners International: A Global Pandemic and the Race to Vaccinate Marley Dubrow, BS; Ching Soong Khoo, MD, MRCP; Chrysoula Liakou, MD, PhD; Azeem Majeed, MD Ms. Dubrow ( dubrowm@sgim.org ) is the member engagement associate at the Society of General Internal Medicine. Dr. Khoo ( chingsoongkhoo@gmail.com ) is a lecturer and consultant neurologist from the Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Medical Centre, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Dr. Liakou ( liakou@gmail.com ) is an attending ...

April 2021

1 to 1 of 1 total
Sign of the Times Black Students Are Transforming American Medical Schools Osose Oboh, BS, MPH Ms. Oboh ( president@snma.org ) is a fourth-year medical student at Michigan State University College of Human Medicine and serves as the National President of the Student National Medical Association (SNMA). When I gaze upon the (virtual) fresh faces of students starting medical school, I am struck by the few Black faces present. As president of the Student National Medical Association (SNMA), ...

March 2021

1 to 1 of 1 total
Health Policy Corner Seeking Inspiration in the Climate Crisis: Advocacy by SGIM Members William G. Weppner, MD, MPH; Matthew F. Hollon, MD, MPH; Elizabeth Gillespie, MD; Andrea Christopher, MD, MPH Dr. Weppner ( William.Weppner@va.gov ) is an associate professor in the Department of Medicine at the University of Washington. Dr. Hollon ( mfhollon@uw.edu ) is a clinical professor with the University of Washington School of Medicine – Gonzaga University Regional Health Partnership. Dr. Gillespie ...

February 2021

1 to 1 of 1 total
Perspective: Part I COVID Equity and Vaccinations Monica E. Peek, MD, MPH, MS Dr. Peek (mpeek@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu) is an associate professor of medicine at the University of Chicago and the associate director (and director of research) at the MacLean Center of Clinical Medical Ethics. She serves on Chicago’s Racial Equity Rapid Response (RERR) Task Force to address COVID disparities. Racial minorities have, as with most diseases, suffered disproportionately during the COVID-19 ...

January 2021

1 to 1 of 1 total
Best Practices Fighting another Epidemic: Strategies to Treat Substance Use Disorders Reem Hanna, MD; Catherine Callister, MD Dr. Hanna ( reem.hanna@cuanschutz.edu ) is an assistant professor in the Division of Hospital Medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine and director of the Hospital Medicine Global Health Scholar Program at the University of Colorado Hospital. Dr. Callister ( Catherine.callister@cuanschutz.edu ) is an assistant professor in the Division of Hospital ...

December 2020

1 to 1 of 1 total
Sign of the Times: Part I Implicit Bias Education: A Crucial Tool in Anti-racist Health Care Cristina M. Gonzalez, MD, MEd Dr. Gonzalez ( crgonzal@montefiore.org ; Twitter: @CristinaMDNYC ) is a professor of medicine at Albert Einstein College of Medicine/Montefiore Medical Center and principal investigator on NIH-funded research on implicit bias recognition and management. As individual providers, we often unknowingly contribute to health disparities due to the impact of implicit ...

November 2020

1 to 1 of 1 total
Breadth Lost Touch Elisa Sottile, MD, FACP Dr. Sottile (elisa.sottile@jax.ufl.edu) is clerkship director, associate program director of the internal medicine residency, and assistant professor of medicine at the University of Florida College of Medicine-Jacksonville. My two college-aged children remind me daily of the various things that I have lost touch with—like recently, when I argued that Pearl Jam was new rock music, not classic. They laughed, knowing I still think Facebook is ...

October 2020

1 to 1 of 1 total
Sign of the Times: Part I Ten Tips for Dismantling Racism: A Roadmap for Ensuring Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion across the Academic Continuum Memoona Hasnain, MD, MHPE, PhD; Erin Goss, MD, AAHIVS; Monica Yepes-Rios, MD; Susan Hasti, MD; Premal Patel MD, MSc; Ashley Wennerstrom, PhD, MPH; Megan Rich, MD, MEd All authors are members of the Community of Practice, National Collaborative for Education to Address Social Determinants of Health (NCEAS); more information is available at http ...

September 2020

1 to 1 of 1 total
Perspective: Part I More than a Rough Year Chavon Onumah, MD, MPH, FACP; Marshall Fleurant, MD, MPH Dr. Onumah ( conumah@mfa.gwu.edu ; Twitter: @ChavonOnumah ) is a primary care and HIV specialist, assistant professor of medicine, and director of the DOM Council for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusive Excellence at The George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences. Dr. Fleurant ( marshall.fleurant@emory.edu ; Twitter: @FleurantMD ) is an assistant professor of medicine ...

August 2020

1 to 1 of 1 total
Breadth: Part I Doctors as Parents and Teachers: Experiences in the COVID-19 Era Rashmi Ganith, MD, FACP, FHM; Allison Rossetti, MD, FAAP; Melissa Skaug, MD, FAAP; Sanjay A. Patel, MD, FACP, FHM Dr. Ganith ( Rashmi.ganith@osumc.edu ) is an academic hospitalist, wellness officer, and clinical track director at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center. Dr. Rossetti ( Allison.Rossetti@osumc.edu ) is an academic medicine and pediatrics hospitalist at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical ...

July 2020

1 to 1 of 1 total
Perspective: Part IV Impact of COVID-19 on the Hispanic Community in Chicago Susan Lopez, MD Dr. Lopez ( suslopez@gmail.com ; Twitter, @SusanLopezMD ) is assistant professor, Division of Hospital Medicine, Department of Internal Medicine, Rush University Medical Center. There are so many...so many. As healthcare providers and as a nation, we have been acutely aware of the impact of COVID-19 on communities of color and, more specifically, on the African-American community. In April, ...

June 2020

1 to 1 of 1 total
Breadth Dealing with Death: Perspectives from the Dark Side of Medicine Amanda Clark, MD; Adrian Sims, MD; John Caleb Grenn, MD; Elizabeth Fryoux, MD Four physicians, each at different points in their careers, share personal experiences on dealing with patient deaths with the hope to convey the importance of reflection on guilt, resilience, and growth. The Initial List Dr. Amanda Clark (avclark@umc.edu; @amandavclark) is an assistant professor of medicine at the University of ...

May 2020

1 to 1 of 1 total
Perspective: Part II Diagnostic Uncertainty in the Age of COVID-19 Clark A. Veet, MD Dr. Veet (veetca@upmc.edu) is a general internal medicine learning health system fellow in the Division of General Internal Medicine at the University of Pittsburgh and the UPMC Center for High-Value Healthcare. As the world faces uncertainties in the midst of the COVID-19 global pandemic, domestic panic has replaced the cautious curiosity once reserved for the otherness of an outbreak burgeoning in ...

April 2020

1 to 1 of 1 total
Health Policy E/M Coding Updates: What Has Changed for 2020 and What Is Slated to Change in 2021 John D. Goodson, MD; Erika Miller, JD Dr. Goodson ( jgoodson1@mgh.harvard.edu ) is an associate professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School and the Massachusetts General Hospital and is chair of the Congtive Care Alliance. Ms. Miller ( emiller@dc-crd.com ) is the executive director of the Cogntive Care Alliance and is senior vice president and counsel at Cavarocchi Ruscio Dennis Associates, ...

March 2020

1 to 1 of 1 total
Medical Education: Part I Bedside Rounding: Rolling with Resistance Mel L. Anderson, MD; Sarita S. Warrier, MD; Attila S. Nemeth, MD; Jeremy P. Smith, MD Dr. Anderson ( Melver.Anderson@va.gov ) is associate professor of medicine, Division of Hospital Medicine, University of Colorado Department of Medicine and Hospital Medicine Section, Minneapolis VA Healthcare System. Dr. Warrier ( Sarita_Warrier@brown.edu ) is assistant professor of medicine and medical science, assistant dean of medical ...

February 2020

1 to 1 of 1 total
Perspective Can We Live-Stream Primary Care?: Challenges in the Adoption of eConsults and Video Visits Danielle L. Tepper, MHA; Matthew A. Weissman, MD, MBA, FAAP Ms. Tepper ( danielle.tepper@mssm.edu ) is the project coordinator for the Department of Medicine at Mount Sinai Beth Israel. Dr. Weissman ( matthew.weissman@mssm.edu ) is the site chair of medicine at Mount Sinai Beth Israel and an associate professor of internal medicine and pediatrics at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount ...

January 2020

1 to 1 of 1 total
Perspective Developing an Anti-racist Residency Recruitment Process Joseph Truglio, MD, MPH; Ann-Gel S. Palermo, DrPH, MPH; Leona Hess, PhD, MSW; Princess E. Dennar, MD; Antonia Eyssallenne, MD, PhD Dr. Truglio ( joseph.truglio@mssm.edu ) is program director, Combined Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Residency, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, NY. Dr. Palermo ( ann-gel.palermo@mssm.edu ) is associate dean for diversity and inclusion in biomedical education, Icahn School ...