Frank Fortin Announced as SGIM Executive Director - SGIM eNews April 27

By GIM Connect posted 04-27-2016 10:21


SGIM eNews

April 27, 2016

eNews You Can Use




SGIM16 Registration Deadline Tomorrow- Thursday, April 28th


You still have time to register and make plans to join us and 1,900 of your colleagues in Hollywood, Florida May 11-14, 2016 for the 2016 SGIM Annual Meeting - the premier networking and educational event for the general internal medicine (GIM) community.


Review the On-Site Program and use the interactive Itinerary Planner to plan and track your personalized event calendar.


For more information and up-to-date session information, visit:



JGIM Paper Selected for ABIM Foundation Professionalism Article Prize

The ABIM Foundation has announced recipients of the sixth annual John A. Benson Jr., MD Professionalism Article Prize. The winning articles explored pressing professionalism challenges facing physicians, including the relationship between physician satisfaction, well-being and quality of care, and how remediation approaches can be designed to foster professionalism behaviors.


"Time to Loosen the Apron Strings: Cohort-based Evaluation of a Learner-driven Remediation Model at One Medical School" by S. Beth Bierer, PhD; Elaine F. Dannefer, PhD; and John E. Tetzlaff, MD

Published in the July 2015 issue of JGIM, this article explores opportunities for medical students to play a leadership role in developing their own remediation models to address professionalism lapses. The authors question traditional faculty-driven remediation models that place students in a passive role, and posit that adopting a learner-driven approach helps students take full responsibility for their actions and provides students opportunities for additional learning and growth.



Frank Fortin, CAE Announced as SGIM Executive DIrector


SGIM'sCouncil and staff are pleased to announce that Frank Fortin, CAE, will be the new Executive Director of the Society. Fortin will begin his employment with the Society on June 6, 2016.


"Frank brings to the Society a deep understanding of healthcare professionals, healthcare delivery and policy, and healthcare professionals' educational needs. This vision will enable him to strategically take our Society into the future," said William Moran, MD, SGIM Past President. "I speak for all members of Council when I say we could not be more pleased with his selection and we look forward to working with him toward SGIM's mission of advancing the field of academic general internal medicine."


Frank Fortin has spent 18 years in health care association management, first as Communications Director and then as Chief Digital Strategist for the Massachusetts Medical Society, the oldest continuous active state medical society in the U.S. Previously, he was Vice President for RDW Group, a public relations and marketing firm in Providence, R.I.; editor of the Providence Business News; and news and documentary producer for the NBC-TV affiliate in Providence. He has also been co-president of the Needham Education Foundation, a charity in Needham, Mass., supporting the community's public school system. He is a Certified Association Executive, an active member of the American Society of Association Executives, and has served a term as chair of the organization's Health Care Committee.


Fortin said, "The mission of SGIM is more essential than ever. I'm honored to join the effort to advance the field of General Internal Medicine and to help improve primary care for all Americans. There's a lot of work to do, and I'm eager to get started."





SGIM Council Election Results Announced


The SGIM Council congratulates the new officers and Council members and extends its sincere appreciation to all the candidates for their willingness to serve the Society.


The SGIM Council also wishes to thank the members who served on the 2016 Nominations Committee: Bill Moran (Chair), Stewart Babbott, Mark Earnest, Nancy Rigotti, Lisa Willett.




Thomas H. Gallagher, MD

University of Washington

Seattle, WA



Som Saha, MD, MPH

Oregon Health Sciences University

Portland, OR


Council Members

April S. Fitzgerald, MD

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Baltimore, MD


Eboni G. Price-Haywood, MD, MPH, FACP

Ochsner Health System

New Orleans, LA


Appointed by Council via Nominations Process:

Associate Member Representative

Madeline R Sterling MD, MPH

New York Presbyterian - Weill Cornell Internal Medicine


Chair, Board of Regional Leaders

Bennett B. Lee MD, MPH

Virginia Commonwealth University


More about the newly elected available online at