Plenary Sessions

Plenary Speakers

Plenary 1: Civil Rights and Health Disparities


ELISEO J. PÉREZ-STABLE, MDDr_Perez-Stable_200x200.jpg

Director, National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities, National Institutes of Health

 ELISEO J. PÉREZ-STABLE, MD, is Director of the National Institutes of Health’s National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD), which seeks to advance the science of minority health and health disparities research through research, training, research capacity development, public education, and information dissemination. Dr. Pérez-Stable practiced general internal medicine for 37 years at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) before moving to NIH in September 2015. He was professor of medicine at UCSF and chief of the Division of General Internal Medicine for 17 years. His research interests include improving the health of racial and ethnic minorities and underserved populations, advancing patient-centered care, improving cross-cultural communication skills among clinicians, and promoting diversity in the biomedical research workforce. For more than 30 years, Dr. Pérez-Stable led research on Latino smoking cessation and tobacco control policy in the United States and Latin America, addressing clinical and prevention issues in cancer screening, and mentoring more than 70 minority investigators. He has published more than 250 peer- reviewed articles and was elected to the National Academy of Medicine in 2001.

Plenary 2: Women's Health and Reproductive Rights




Visiting Professor, Health Policy and Management, George Washington University

LEANA WEN, MD, MSc, is an emergency physician, public health leader, and a passionate advocate for patient-centered healthcare reform. The author of the critically acclaimed book, When Doctors Don’t Listen, her TED Talk on transparency in medicine has been viewed nearly 2 million times. In 2019, Dr. Wen was named one of TIME 100’s Most Influential People. Dr. Wen is currently a Visiting Professor of Health Policy and Management at the George Washington University School of Public Health, where she is also the Distinguished Fellow at the Fitzhugh Mullan Institute of Health Workforce Equity. She has served as President/CEO of the Planned Parenthood Federation of America. As the first physician to lead Planned Parenthood in nearly 50 years, Dr. Wen worked to expand comprehensive healthcare for vulnerable women and families. Previously, she was the Health Commissioner for the City of Baltimore, where she led the nation’s oldest continuously operating health department in the U.S. to fight the opioid epidemic, treat violence and racism as public health issues, and improve maternal and child health.

Plenary 3: Integrating Social Care Into the Delivery of Health Care



Lee Goldman, MD, Endowed Chair in Medicine, Professor and Chair, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Professor of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco

KIRSTEN BIBBINS-DOMINGO, PhD, MD, MAS, is the Lee Goldman, MD Endowed Chair in Medicine, Professor and Chair of the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, and Professor of Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco. She is the inaugural Vice Dean for Population Health and Health Equity in the UCSF School of Medicine. She co-founded the UCSF Center for Vulnerable Populations at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital, a research center focused on discovery, implementation, policy, advocacy, and community engagement for communities at risk for poor health and inadequate healthcare. She is one of the principal investigators for the UCSF Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute. Dr. Bibbins-Domingo is a general internist and cardiovascular epidemiologist who uses observational epidemiology, pragmatic trials, and simulation modeling to examine the impact of clinical and public health approaches to cardiovascular disease prevention in the U.S., in U.S. population subgroups, and in other countries globally. She is an expert in prevention and previously served on the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force as a member (2010–2017) and as vice chair and chair (2014–2017). She is an inducted member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the Association of American Physicians, and the National Academy of Medicine.